Digital Citizenship Report

Digital Citizenship Report

MirandaNet White Paper:

“Towards tomorrow’s successful digital citizens”

Report compiled from the responses of a gathering of experts at the London Knowledge Lab

24th February 2015




Thanks to all those who attended the MirandaMod on 24th February 2015 and, in particular, to those who prepared presentations to stimulate thinking. As with any exploration of this nature, it is inevitable that some valuable comments will have been omitted, and the emphasis may not reflect the particular interests of each individual. Apologies in advance for any omissions or inaccuracies.


Second draft of the White Paper produced by the group


MirandaNet has archived previous material on this topic.
For example see this list for ‘citizenship’ on 

Individuals were asked to provide keynote presentations under each theme. Following the presentations, three larger groups were organised to discuss and make notes on each of the themes.


Names may be linked to accompanying visual aids or notes if available.

What makes a successful Digital Citizen? An international feel. What is the relationship between Computer Science, Social Informatics and Digital Wisdom? How can we ensure the development of successful Digital Citizens?
Gunilla Bradley* Sandra Stark* Avril Loveless
Pilar Quezzaire/Andy Mayes Ian Lynch Patricia Charlton
Allison Allen Miles Berry Mike Sharples
Peter Twining Don Gotterbarn Diana Laurillard
David Longman Denise Oram Bern Martens

Participant list and some ‘Position Statements’

In preparation for the workshop everyone who attended was invited to post a position statement as a ‘response’ to the topics. Here are some of those statements.

Forename Surname Institution
Allison Allen Outstream
Miles Berry Roehampton University
Ibrar Bhatt Lancaster University
Helen Boulton Nottingham Trent University
Gunilla Bradley Linnaeus University
Pete Bradshaw Open University
Patricia Charlton Institute of Education
Mark Dorling Computers at Schools (CAS)
Penny Duquenoy Middlesex University
Don Gotterbarn De Montfort University
Olli Hemo University of Turku
Wayne Holmes Bristol University
Sheelagh Keddie Common Sense Privacy
Kai Kimppa University of Turku, Finland
Diana Laurillard Institute of Education
Mairlyn Leask MirandaNet
Robert Leeman OCR
Jan Lepeltak Learning Focus
David Longman Independent
Avril Loveless Brighton University
Ian Lynch The Ingots
Bern Martens Leuven University
Andrew Mayes International Baccalaureate
Niel McLean E-skills UK
Bill Mitchell British Computer Society (BCS)
Raymond Morel Swiss Academy of Engineering Sciences
Denise Oram Glyndwr University
Norberto Patrignani Politechnico Torino, Italy
Malcolm Payton e3net
Alison Pearce OCR
John Pearson University of Namur, Belgium
Alan Perkins ACS School, Egham
Malgoratza Plotka De Montfort University
Christina Preston MirandaNet
Ramon Puigjanar University of the Balearic Isles, Spain
Pilar Quezzaire International Baccalaureate
John Reeves
Juana M. Sancho Gil University of Barcelona, Spain
Mike Sharples Open University
Sandra Stark International Baccalaureate
Richard Taylor International Baccalaureate
Vinay Thawait OCR
Roger Turner LightSpeed
Peter Twining Open University
Anna Vartapatience Surrey University
Danielle Emma Vass
Diane Whitehouse The Castlegate Consultancy
Sarah Younie De Monfort University